Skip to content

Heather Rees retires

April 4, 2011

Heather Rees

Heather Rees has retired from the academic support staff at the Department of Information Science after working for 16 years as the Department’s Administrator.

Her career at Loughborough University began after completing a Degree in English at the Department of English and Drama; subsequently, she then worked there for two years. Heather then worked for a number of academic departments and support services including the University’s Academic Registry, Security, and the Student Accommodation Centre. She joined the Department of Information Science during 1995.

During her time at the Department she considered helping students who have encountered difficulties to be the most rewarding aspect of her job. “I have enjoyed attending the graduation ceremonies to watch students that I’ve helped over the years receive their reward for their hard work and efforts.”

After working in the University for 23 years, Heather is understandably looking forward to a long and happy retirement. “I will be going to Cornwall to get used to not working, and I hope to join art classes. I also enjoy gardening so that will be something that I will be doing more often. However I am mostly looking forward to spending more time with my family and friends.” She also intends to travel around Europe in the future and possibly beyond.

Heather described her time in the Department as “extremely busy and stressful at times” but remains very grateful to all the people she has worked with. “I have been fortunate to have been able to work alongside great colleagues and students. I wish all students in Information Science the very best of luck with their degrees and in their future lives.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Victoria Hirst permalink
    April 4, 2011 2:25 pm

    Heather’s help was invaluable when I changed courses and encountered other difficulties throughout my degree, and I know many others feel the same. No matter the problem she could always come up with a solution to calm even the most panicked of students!

    If you read this Heather, thank you so much for helping me get through my years at Loughborough and I hope you have a fabulous retirement!

Leave a Reply

